Pulsed Field Ablation

Treatment for Atrial Fibrillation

Atrial fibrillation (AF) can be unsettling. The condition not only causes an irregular heart rhythm, but can also lead to blood clot formation in the heart, resulting in a higher risk of stroke and heart failure. Apart from using medication, AF recurrence is traditionally prevented through a procedure known as ablation, though this method carries risk of complications. Pulsed field ablation (PFS), a groundbreaking treatment newly introduced in Hong Kong, significantly reduces the risk of complications and shortens surgery time by more than half. For the over 70,000 AF patients in Hong Kong (approximately 1% of the total population), PFA offers renewed hope for an alternative, improved treatment method.

A common treatment method for AF is taking medications such as anticoagulants (blood thinners) and anti-arrhythmics. However, medication does not cure AF, and some patients may opt for surgery to reduce the risk of AF recurrence. Traditionally, a procedure known as pulmonary vein isolation is conducted to target abnormal cells that are causing AF at the junction of the atria and pulmonary veins. By using heat or cold energy, this type of cardiac ablation creates tiny scars to block irregular heart rhythms. 

However, pulmonary vein isolation has its risks. During the procedure, surrounding tissues may be affected, resulting in rare complications such as pulmonary vein stenosis or atrial-esophageal fistula (AEF) – the formation of an abnormal connection between the left atrium of the heart and the esophagus. There is also risk of phrenic nerve injury, which can lead to diaphragmatic paralysis and affect a patient’s ability to breathe. Furthermore, the procedure is relatively lengthy and takes at least two to three hours to complete.

Pulsed field ablation, introduced in Hong Kong this year, reduces risk of complications and significantly shortens the procedure time. Through delivery of a series of high-voltage electrical pulses that last just a few seconds, the procedure aims to destroy abnormal cells causing AF by creating numerous pores in the cell membranes.

As the electric field response threshold for the abnormal cells differs from that of nerve cells and esophageal cells, the specific voltage and duration of the electrical pulses may be adjusted to target the abnormal cells without endangering the surrounding tissues, thereby reducing the risk of complications. In addition, the procedure requires just over one hour to complete, less than half the time needed for traditional ablation. 

In terms of recurrence prevention, the rates of PFA and traditional ablation are comparable. Within one year following the procedure, over 80% of patients with paroxysmal AF and about 70% of patients with persistent AF do not experience recurrence. 

There are multiple treatments for AF, each with varying levels of effectiveness and risk of complications. Patients with questions should consult their attending physician for more information.

Close

脉冲场消融术

遏止心房颤动 

心房颤动(房颤)令人“心乱如麻”,心跳节奏混乱之馀,更有机会在心脏内形成血栓,增加中风及心脏衰竭风险。除了服用药物,传统可透过肺静脉阻隔术(俗称消融术),预防房颤复发,却有并发症风险。新近引入香港的“脉冲场消融术”(PFA) ,令房颤治疗出现突破,这种新技术有助大减并发症风险,亦把手术时间缩短超过一半。对于约占本港人口1%、约七万多名房颤患者而言,脉冲场消融术是其中一个治疗新希望。

服用抗凝血药(薄血药)及抗心律不正药物,是常见的房颤治疗方法,然而药物未能根治房颤。部分病人会采用手术治疗,去减低房颤复发机会。传统以肺静脉阻隔术为主,针对位于心房和肺静脉交界、发放脉冲骚扰心房引致房颤的不正常细胞,透过热能(导管射频)或冷冻能量(冷冻球囊),把其消融 。

然而肺静脉阻隔术却有局限,一来因为消融期间或会波及其他身体组织,因而引起较罕见的并发症,例如引致肺静脉收窄、或令心房和食道之间产生不正常通道的心房食道瘘管(AEF),亦有机会令右边横膈膜一条神经线被破坏,形成膈神经麻痹影响呼吸等。而且手术时间较长,最快也要2至3小时才能完成。

本年引入香港的脉冲场消融术,则可减低并发症风险,以及突破手术时间的限制。脉冲场消融术透过输出一系列维持数秒的高伏特电流制造能量,令引发房颤的不正常细胞,细胞膜被破坏并产生大量微细孔洞,从而将其消灭。

由于不正常细胞跟神经线细胞,以及食道等细胞的能量临界点(Threshold)有别,因此只要发出针对不正常细胞的特定电压和时间,产生对应的临界点能量,就可以精准令其淍亡,而不会波及食道及神经线等周边细胞,理论上避免了并发症出现。而且脉冲场消融术的手术时间,只需一个多小时,比传统消融术减少超过一半。

以避免疾病复发的比率而言,脉冲场消融术与传统消融术相若。以术后一年计,超过80%间歇性房颤病人以及约70%持续性房颤病人,没有复发。

房颤治疗有多种不同方案,各有不同成效及副作用,患者如有疑问,应向其主诊医生查询。 

关闭